contentgrrl

I am conTENT. My work is CONtent.

my Wii fitness level 59 and Lego Star Wars

Posted by contentgrrl on January 2, 2008


For Christmas, the grandparents on my side got the kids a Wii, with much thanks to my dear brother, who pulled favors with his connections in the local Wal-Mart.

So we’ve had the console, Wii Sports, an extra set of controllers, and Lego Star Wars the complete saga, for a week now. My husband played the Wii Sports with the boys and his nephew for five hours on Christmas Day. He started out with a fitness age of 63, and is now at age 28 after seven days and a sore shoulder from boxing, baseball, golf, tennis, and bowling. I just tried the fitness test today, and I wanted to record my age of 59 with a similar goal.

I feel we’re in pretty good company. After all, if frugal guru Trent of The Simple Dollar can justify it, then so can I.

I should say that my sons love playing golf, especially when they hit the ball into the water hazard. They do the same with Tiger Woods on the PC. But this way they actually stand up and swing instead of hitting keys. It does indeed get us off our collective buns.

Wii golf water hazard

Not to say there aren’t more sedentary alternatives. Lego Star Wars, for which we mostly sit, has been both fun and frustrating, partially because of the required fine motor skills that my boys just don’t have yet, and partially because my boys don’t want to destroy all the things that will score you enough points to get to the next level or build a minikit.

But my preschoolers now know this epic very well. They can name all the characters, creatures, and machines like the geeks their parents are. And it’s fun playing out scenes like Luke on a tauntaun on icy Hoth, being attacked by that Wampa monster, hanging upside down, grabbing the light saber with the Force’s telekinesis, and cutting off the monster’s arm (one of the brothers works very hard to take his arm out of his sleeve, and then falls dramatically to the floor).

Video courtesy of NextGenWalkthroughs.

11 Responses to “my Wii fitness level 59 and Lego Star Wars”

  1. […] Invent Admin WY article is brought to you using rss feeds.Here you will find the latest information on diet and weight loss.For Christmas, the grandparents on my side got the kids a Wii, with much thanks to my dear brother, who pulled favors with his connections in the local Wal-Mart. So we’ve had the console, Wii Sports, an extra set of controllers, … […]

  2. You’re going to get me in trouble here. I had to watch that entire Star Wars clip (the geek in me couldn’t hit the stop button) and I need to get back to work 🙂

    My daughter brought her Wii over to my house and playing with my granddaughter is a bit of a challenge, as she is only 3, but she gets to do enough that she laughs and enjoys it. It really is a great system.

    Made me think of my old EyeToy for my Playstation 2. I’m going to dig that out and let her swing her arms around cleaning the screen and fighting the ninjas. She should be able to do that, and enjoy it greatly.

    Happy New Year,

    Anthony

  3. contentgrrl said

    Thanks, Anthony! Shiny Happy New Year to you & yours!

    Tere
    contentgrrl

  4. […] Art Jahnke article is brought to you using rss feeds.Here you will find the latest information on diet and weight loss.You’re going to get me in trouble here. I had to watch that entire Star Wars clip (the geek in me couldn’t hit the stop button) and I need to get back to work. My daughter brought her Wii over to my house and playing with my … […]

  5. […] my Wii fitness level 59 and Lego Star Wars […]

  6. […] I gained 27 years in one day on our Wii â and a new Web browser « contentgrrl added an interesting post today on Comment on my Wii fitness level 59 and Lego Star Wars by I gained ….Here’s a small reading:my Wii fitness level 59 and Lego Star Wars […] […]

  7. […] Read the rest of this great post here […]

  8. […] fitness » Blog Archive » Comment on my Wii fitness level 59 and Lego Star … placed an observative post today on Comment on my Wii fitness level 59 and Lego Star Wars by fitness ….Here’s a quick excerpt:[…] Read the rest of this great post here […] […]

  9. […] contentgrrl put an intriguing blog post on my Wii fitness level 59 and Lego Star Wars.Here’s a quick excerpt:For Christmas, the grandparents on my side got the kids a Wii, with much thanks to my dear brother, who pulled favors with his connections in the local Wal-Mart. So we’ve had the console, Wii Sports, an extra set of controllers, … […]

  10. Very interesting trivia with regards to the gaming platform. It was designed and tested by actual fitness gurus in Japan which was hired by the company making the hardware.

  11. weight loss is sometimes difficult to attain, it all depends on your motivation and genetics ”:

Leave a Reply

 
